21 award nominations in Germany

05.06.2020, Germany, Mediengruppe RTL Deutschland / UFA

Mediengruppe RTL Deutschland and UFA get 21 nominations for the Deutsche Fernsehpreis 2020.

Read more

RTL Television received ten nominations, Vox eight, UFA four, amongst which two shared with Vox, and Vox and TV Now one shared nomination for the dating show Prince Charming.

RTL is able to celebrate a total of ten nominations: the game show Denn sie wissen nicht, was passiert! is in the running in the “Best Entertainment Show” category. Das Sommerhaus der Stars has hopes to win an award for “Best Factual Entertainment”. The quartet consisting of Barbara Schöneberger, Günther Jauch, Thomas Gottschalk and Thorsten Schorn was nominated in the “Best Host in an Entertainment Program” category. In the same category, Daniel Hartwich received a nomination for his hosting of Let’s Dance and Ich bin ein Star – Holt mich hier raus! In addition, nominations for “Best Directing for an Entertainment Show” went to Mark Achterberg for Let’s Dance and Knut Fleischmann for Ninja Warrior Germany. The trio Micky Beisenherz, Jens Oliver Haas and Jörg Uebber can celebrate their nomination for “Best Author Entertainment” (Ich bin ein Star). The chief editor of Ich bin ein Star, Alexander von Sturmfelder, was nominated in the “Best Editing Entertainment” category. In the Information segment, RTL has hopes to win two awards: Team Wallraff: Hinter geschlossenen Türen – Undercover in Psychiatrien und Jugendhilfe received a nomination in the “Best Infotainment” category, and Steffen Hallaschka is in the running for hosting Stern TV in the “Best Host in an Informational Programme” category.

Vox is in the running with nine nominations: Kitchen Impossible and Wir sind klein und ihr seid alt will compete in the “Best Factual Entertainment” category. Jasna Fritzi Bauer was nominated for her role in Rampensau, produced by UFA, in the “Best Actress” category. The Vox documentary Kindheit unterm Hakenkreuz received two nominations: one in the “Best Documentary/Reportage” category, and Robert Handrick, Mathias Niepenburg and Martin Reimers hope to win in the “Best Editing Infotainment/Documentary” category. Tina Pepper and Sophie Hunger (UFA Serial Drama production Rampensau) were nominated in the “Best Music” category. Andrea Achterberg is in the running in the “Best Directing Entertainment” category (Ready to Beef). The trio Daniel Coenen, Denis Schnack and Thomas Knipf were nominated in the “Best Editing Entertainment” category for Kitchen Impossible. Last but not least, Vox and TV Now have a chance to win an award for the first gay dating show Prince Charming: the TV Now original is in the running in the “Best Factual Entertainment” category. 

UFA also has four nominations for its productions. As mentioned above, Jasna Fritzi Bauer was nominated for “Best Actress” and Tina Pepper and Sophie Hunger for “Best Music”. UFA have two nominations in this “Best Music” category as Annette Focks was also nominated for the UFA Fiction production Lotte am Bauhaus. In addition, presenters Kai Pflaume, Bernhard Hoëcker and Elton from Wer Weiss den sowas? are nominated for Best Presenter. 

The awards premiered in 1999 and are presented by ARD, RTL, Sat.1 and ZDF to honor outstanding achievements in television. This year, RTL is responsible for the lead management.